You are on the page  Basics

1. WHAT IS A SCREENPLAY?

A screenplay is a succession of visual descriptions including name of scenes, day/night indications, dialogues and some basic, dramatic indications. On the average, one screenplay page is equivalent to one minute of film, which means most screenplays are usually between 90 to 120 pages long. Technical indications need to be kept to the minimum as they should be left to the producer and the director to worry about.

Any given concept for a fiction or documentary project may also be presented as a synopsis or a treatment. Generally, a synopsis is a short, one to three page summary of your final screenplay whereas a treatment should be more developed - ten to thirty pages - and optionally include bits of dialogues.

2. WHAT DOES A SCRIPT DOCTOR DO ?

A script doctor is an expert story editor who tracks down any given dramatic or format flaw in a completed or in a progress screenplay and helps the writer find the right solutions.

Film and television are industries. The audience is the market and your screenplay is a product that you want to sell to that market.  The more you improve your screenplay, the better it will become and the more chances for you to have it produced. It is a simple and universal rule.

Please note that no matter how much this site contributes to any improvements of your screenplay, you will remain the sole author(s) of your work.

3. WHO SHOULD USE THIS SERVICE ?
 
Doc Scenario welcomes all writers seeking advice regarding a film or a television project whether it is a completed screenplay, a synopsis or a treatment, before it is submitted to any key, industry professional.

It is just as easy to criticize as it is hard to create. So true, and how come? Because very few writers can actually reflect on their own work. A screenplay is like one’s child: one can’t help but loving him/her without seeing his/her faults. Therefore, it is fundamental to get an exterior, objective and constructive point of view.

A telephone consultation is also offered. However, for your optimal benefit, it is strongly recommended that you use this option only after your work was first reviewed by this site.

4. ELEMENTS TO BE EVALUATED:  

• Structure, continuity and acts
• Conflicts and situations
• Impact of the first 10 pages
• Plot points and twists
• Primary and secondary plots
• Leads and secondary characters
• Dramatic set-ups, motivations and goals
• Dialogues
• Exposition, confrontation, resolution and conclusion

Vous êtes sur la page  Basics

1. QU’EST-CE QU’UN SCENARIO ?

Un scénario est une suite de descriptions visuelles comprenant le découpage des scènes, les dialogues et quelques indications scéniques. En général, chaque page d'un scénario correspond à une minute de film ce qui, pour le long-métrage, donne lieu à des scénarios de 90 à 120 pages. Les indications techniques restent minimales car elles sont du domaine du réalisateur.

Un concept de fiction ou de documentaire peut aussi être présenté sous forme d’un synopsis ou d’un traitement. En général, un synopsis est un court résumé, environ 1 à 3 pages, du scénario. Plus développé, un traitement peut comprendre des dialogues et comprend 10 à 30 pages.

2. QU’EST-CE QU’UN SCRIPT DOCTOR ?
 
Un Script Doctor est un spécialiste en dramaturgie qui met en évidence les problèmes d’un scénario et aide l’auteur à trouver les solutions à ces problèmes.

Le cinéma et la télévision sont des industries. Le public est votre marché, votre scénario un produit destiné à ce marché. Plus votre scénario sera abouti, plus vous aurez de chances de le voir devenir un film. C’est une règle simple et universelle.

A noter que quelque soit la contribution de ce site à votre projet, vous restez le seul auteur et gardez ainsi l’intégrale propriété intellectuelle de votre œuvre.

3. A QUI S’ADRESSE CE SERVICE ?
 
Doc Scénario s’adresse à tous ceux qui ont besoin de conseils et de suggestions sur un projet de film ou de télévision, qu’il soit sous la forme d’un scénario, d’un traitement ou d’un synopsis, avant sa présentation aux décideurs.
 
La critique est facile et l’art est difficile !  C’est tellement vrai, et pourquoi ? Parce qu’il est donné à très peu d’auteurs d’avoir un vrai recul critique sur leurs écrits. Un scénario, c’est comme son propre enfant : on ne peut que l’aimer sans vraiment voir ses défauts. Il est donc primordial d’avoir un point de vue extérieur, objectif et, bien entendu, constructif.

Une consultation téléphonique est également proposée. Cependant, pour un résultat optimal, il est fortement suggéré de n’y avoir recours qu’une fois que votre scénario aura été d’abord analysé par le site. 

4. ELEMENTS ANALYSES :

• Structure, unicité et actes
• Conflits et situations
• Impact des 10 premières pages
• Points d’intrigues et retournements
• Intrigue principale et intrigues secondaires
• Personnages principaux et secondaires
• Courbes dramatiques, motivations, buts
• Dialogues
• Exposition, confrontation, résolution et conclusion